News and Updates
Mississippi DUI law changes (October 1, 2016). The legislature has amended Mississippi's DUI law effective October 1, 2016. There are significant changes coming into effect which include changes to the implied consent, administrative suspension of driver's license, non-adjudication, and expungement. Please consult with an experienced attorney to see how these changes may impact you or a family member.
MS Supreme Court Adopts the Mississippi Rules of Criminal Procedure (December 16, 2016). Justice Ann Lamar signs into law mandating certain procedural requirements for criminal cases arising in Mississippi State Courts. The uniform rules seeks to promote justice, uniformity and efficiency in our courts. The rules become effective July 1, 2017.
Chiniche Law Firm PLLC
Oxford and Hernando, MS
Boating Under the Influence - With the Labor Day Weekend approaching, if you are like me and heading to Sardis Lake, Pickwick Lake, or another nearby lake or coastal area, beware of Mississippi's boating under the influence (BUI) law. (Miss. Code Ann. 59-23-7). The blood alcohol content is the same (0.08%) as if operating a motor vehicle. Persons convicted of BUI face a fine between $250.00 and $1,000.00, or 24 hours in jail, or both. A second conviction of BUI within a 5 year period will prevent a person from operating a boat for 1 year and if death or permanent injury occurs to someone the charge becomes a felony with imprisonment up to 10 years. So the lesson here is have fun, be safe, and protect yourself and all passengers (September 2, 2016)